Club Event Walks

The Ottawa Voyageurs Need You!!!

COVID-19 Update November 16, 2020

With all that is happening with the pandemic and recommendations from health experts not to have group gatherings, the Ottawa Voyageurs are cancelling their group walks for the time being. I have been in contact with Benoit and he is in agreement with this. We will take a look at the situation in a couple of weeks. In the meantime, please continue to walk either by yourself (I know, not very exciting) or with one other person

By volunteering, you ensure your club continues to grow and provide great walking opportunities. Be Pro-Active by offering your services. Do not wait for someone to contact you. Contact the Trail Coordinator, President or Vice-President by volunteering to work the registration or finish table in (its easier than you may think and “many hands make light work”) or assume responsibility for the event by becoming the event coordinator. To find out more about being an event coordinator see the roles and responsibilities of an event coordinator.


2021

Now that the City of Ottawa has given the “green light” to once again have group walks, you are invited to join us. COVID protocols will be in place for all our walks.

Date: Sat 20 Feb 2021

Event: PT 019 Convent Glen South - this walk qualifies for the Famous Canadians Special Program

Location: Bob MacQuarrie Rec Complex, 1490 Youville Dr, Orleans

Direction: from the West take the 417 / Hwy 174 to the Jeanne d’Arc exit. Go South (right) to the lights at Lucille Dr and turn Right. Continue to the parking lot at the back of the building. From the East take Hwy 174 to the Jeanne d’Arc exit. Turn Right at the ramp then Left and continue over the highway to the lights at Youville Dr. Turn Right and continue to the parking lot at the back of the building.

Distances: 5km Route
and 10 km Route

Registration: will be from 10:15 to 10:30 in the parking lot close to Door 2 (back of the building). You may start walking at any time after registering. Contactless registration will be in place so signing will not be required.

Cost: $2 for the first time and $1 if you have already done the PT in 2021. Please - in order to minimize contact with the money, bring exact change

IVV Credit: PT labels will be available at the registration. COVID safety protocol will be in place during this walk. Although face masks will not be mandatory during the walk, they will be required at time of registration.

If you have not already signed and returned your [[|2021 OVO Waiver] (they were part of the 2021 membership form) please print a copy from the Club website and bring with you to the walk on Sat.

Saturday looks like it will be a perfect day for walking - sunny and -4 so not too cold. Why not invite a friend to join you and come out to our walk. Hope to see you on Sat.


Past Walks 2020

Saturday, 8 February - WELCOME TO WINTERLUDE

Saturday, 15 February - OTTAWA VOYAGEURS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AND MAP WALK

Saturday 19 January - MER BLEUE SNOWSHOE/WALK

Wednesday, 10 July - EXPLORING CARSON GROVE

Wednesday, 21 August - SANDY HILL STROLL

Saturday, October 12 - PLEASANT PARK PROMENADE

Saturday, 2 November - VOLUNTEER APPRECIATION WALK

Saturday 18 April - MOVE YOUR FEET SO KIDS CAN EAT 20th ANNUAL ORLÉANS-CUMBERLAND RESOURCE CENTRE CHARITY WALK

Tuesday, 8 May - WORLD WALKING DAY

Saturday 16 May - CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL MAP WALK

Sunday, 17 May - CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL MAP WALK

Monday, 18 May - CANADIAN TULIP FESTIVAL BIKE

Saturday 30 May - DISCOVER EASTERN ONTARIO

Wednesday 24 June - HONOURING FRENCH & INDIGENOUS HERITAGE

Wednesday, 1 July - CANADA DAY CRUSH

Wednesday 15 July - ROAMING ROCKCLIFFE

Wednesday, 29 July - EXPLORE HERON PARK

Wednesday, 12 August - PETRIE ISLAND PROMENADE

Weekend of 22-23 August - MORE DAYS - WALK and CYCLE

Wednesday, 26 August 2020 - SOUTH KEYES STROLL

Saturday, 12 September - 36th OTTAWA VOYAGEURS ANNUAL WALK

Saturday, 3 October - FALL RHAPSODY FESTIVAL

Saturday 17 October - TALE OF TWO CEMETERIES

Wednesday, November 11 - REMEMBRANCE DAY WALK CVF 277 PT

Sunday, 13 DECEMBER - CHRISTMAS LIGHTS WALK


The Ottawa Voyageurs will not be hosting any "Event" walks for the first quarter of 2021 as the club follows COVID protocols.

Watch your emails for messages for group walks of our Permanent Trails as Covid protocols allow.

Hopefully as the year unfolds the club will be able to hold more regular events.